The revised National Curriculum was introduced in 2008 and consists of:

Core Subjects- English, Welsh, Mathematics, Science. 

Foundation Subjects- Geography, History, PE, Design and Technology, RE, Art and ICT. 


Foundation Phase -


KS2 -


Literacy and Numeracy Framework

The National Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF) is designed to help teachers embed literacy and numeracy into all subjects for learners aged 5 to 14.

The LNF sets the skills we expect learners to develop. Within literacy we expect learners to become accomplished in:

  • oracy across the curriculum
  • reading across the curriculum
  • writing across the curriculum.

Within numeracy we expect learners to become accomplished in:

  • developing numerical reasoning
  • using number skills
  • using measuring skills
  • using data skills.


Digital Competence Framework

The Framework encapsulates the skills that will help learners thrive in an increasingly digital world.

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework, which has been developed by practitioners from Pioneer Schools, supported by external experts, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.

Citizenship – which includes:

  • Identity, image and reputation
  • Health and well-being
  • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
  • Online behaviour and cyberbullying.

Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

  • Communication
  • Collaboration
  • Storing and sharing.

Producing – which includes:

  • Planning, sourcing and searching
  • Creating
  • Evaluating and improving.

Data and computational thinking – which includes:

  • Problem solving and modelling
  • Data and information literacy.